2012 Preservation Awards

The Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation held the 43rd Annual Preservation Awards and its annual meeting on Monday, June 4, 2012, at the historic Morton Theatre downtown. ACHF Executive Director Amy Kissane kicked off the Annual Meeting with the Year in Review and recognized incoming and outgoing board members. Following the group’s business meeting, Preservation Awards Chair Jennifer Lewis highlighted each award winner with a description of each project and a slide show presenting images that showed the improved properties before and after the work was done.

Each year ACHF recognizes property owners who have gone above and beyond in caring for and fixing up their historic properties by giving out preservation awards for outstanding historic rehabilitations, grassroots preservation, community revitalization, and stewardship. We also recognized outstanding publications and programs, and more. Since 1969 the Foundation has given out a total of over 300 awards at its annual spring meetings.  Thanks to everyone who attended!

Jeanne M Downs Community Spirit Award
to Billy Galt and the Ben Epps Statue Steering Committee, and to Lee Epting

Outstanding Publication or Program Award
to Emily Doster and Gary Doster for Athens: A Postcard History Series

Outstanding Publication or Program Award
to Ashley Callahan for Georgia Bellflowers: The Furniture of Henry Eugene Thomas

Grassroots Preservation Award
to UGA Student Historic Preservation Organization

Excellence in Community Revitalization Award
to Travis Burch, Jessica Rothacker, and Jimmy Wilfong for Heirloom Café at 815 North Chase Street


Outstanding Rehabilitation Award
to Friends of Oconee Hill Cemetery for the George E. King Bridge

Outstanding Rehabilitation Award
to Clarke County School District and the Heritage Committee of Athens High & Industrial School/Burney‐Harris High School for H. T. Edwards Complex at 440 Dearing Extension

Outstanding Rehabilitation Award
to Brian Holloway and Chris Holloway for The Volstead at 351 E. Clayton Street

Outstanding Rehabilitation Award
to Hill Street Holdings for 588 Meigs Street

Outstanding Rehabilitation Award
to Athens‐Clarke County Leisure Services Department for the Morton Theatre, 195 West Washington Street


Outstanding Achievement Award
to Jim Barsness and Didi Dunphy for 189 Fortson Circle


Outstanding Stewardship Award
to Georgia Power for 1001 Prince Avenue

President’s Award
to Wilmot Greene for the Georgia Theatre at 215 N. Lumpkin Street


Trustee of the Year Award
to Lisa Dore

Volunteer of the Year Award to Kristen Bergman-Morales, Greta Covington, Michele Griffin, and Cathy Wegel