Archive | Uncategorized

2010 Awards

The highlight of the 2010 Annual Meeting was, as always, the presentation of awards.  This year the ceremony was kicked off by a special presentation of a new award, the Jeanné M. Downs Community Spirit Award, by Church-Waddel-Brumby House Museum Chair Laura Straehla and member John Waters. Jeanne Down’s daughter, Linda Downs Easterlin, accepted the […]

ACHF 2010 Preservation Awards

R.E.M. receives Phinizy Spalding Award On Monday, June 7, the Athens-Clarke Heritage Foundation awarded the Phinizy Spalding Preservation Award, its most prestigious, to R.E.M.  Phinizy Spalding was a fixture in historic preservation in Athens for over two decades. A noted and loved history professor at the University of Georgia, his influence is, in small measure, […]